skip to Main Content

Public Administration

SAQA ID: 50060 National Certificate Level: 5 Credits: 141 Duration: 1 Year

The National Certificate: Public Administration NQF level 5 provides a structured programme for public officials that work with senior management officials to provide support to strategic leadership and management needed to transform all spheres of government.

The qualification addresses how the spheres of government work. You will understand the impact of the changing needs of today’s public service delivery systems. You will learn how to make government process effective in delivering services to the public.

It allows the learner to work towards a nationally recognised qualification. The qualification will allow both those in formal education and those already employed in organisations in the Public Administration and Management field of learning in the public-sector access to a qualification that can be used as a benchmark to gauge their competence against local and international standards.

  1. Manage service delivery improvement and employ client service delivery techniques.
  2. Manage and lead human resources in the workplace.
  3. Apply the principles of knowledge management to public sector administration.
  4. Plan strategically to improve business performance.
  5. Apply South African legislation and policy affecting public administration
  6. Apply the principles of risk management to manage risk situations in the public sector.
  7. Design formulate public sector policies and regulations.


Module 1 Public Service Delivery Improvement Planning

Module 2 Human Resources Planning

Module 3 Knowledge Management

Module 4 Managing Conflict and Diversity

Module 5 South African Legislation and Policies

Module 6 Risk Assessment Reporting


Learners will have competences in a first and second language, as well as

Communication NQF Level 4

Mathematical Literacy NQF level 4.

Formative assessment: Portfolio of evidence will be submitted within two months after the training of each module. Assessment activities include evaluating all documentation produced during the process and questioning to test knowledge and ability to apply.

Final summative assessment: An Integrated Assessment will be conducted on the theoretical and practical components after all the modules are completed. During integrated assessments the assessor makes use of formative and summative assessment methods and assess combinations of practical, applied, foundational and reflective competencies.

Assessors and moderators make use of a range of formative and summative assessment methods. Assessors assess and give credit for the evidence of learning that has already been acquired through formal, informal and non-formal learning and work experience.

This programme is accredited by the Public Service Sector Education and training Authority (P SETA).

On completion, the following certification will be awarded:

A PSETA National Certificate: Public Administration (NQF level 5) will be awarded to all delegates who successfully complete all portfolio requirements


A PSETA Statement of Results will be awarded to all delegates who successfully complete some, but not all, of the modules’ portfolio requirements. The Statement of Results will only reflect the modules successfully completed

    Public Administration

    SAQA ID: 50060
    National Certificate
    Level: 5
    Credits: 141
    Duration: 1 Year

    Back To Top